Access Groups
Access Groups
An Access Group is a method of predefining the Meter access for individual Users. The required Meter Access permission is defined by Tree View path. The specified access of the Group is then applied for one or more Users from a single record choice selection.
The list offers some details to summarise each Group and is sortable by selecting the respective column header. The total ‘Number of Users’ will update automatically according to the present allocation of each group to users of the system.
Open: Setup > Security > Access Groups
Search Options
Path - click Select to choose the Path
Description - enter an Access Group description, ie the Name
Adding Access Groups
An Access Group can be for a Company, Group(s), Sites(s) or individual Meters(s). For example, a Site Manager may only need access to one Site, or an Area Manager may have few Sites that they are responsible for.
Open: Setup > Security > Access Groups
Click Add to open the Configure Access Group Security page
Path - click Select to choose the Path
Access Group Description - enter the name of the Access Group
Allow this access group full access - tick to select all Items in the Tree View
This option will provide access to all future Root Companies and their Child Items too. When ticked, the Tree View check boxes become deactivated and the User gets the same Tree View access as an Administrator
Selecting at a higher level (Company) will automatically select the Items beneath (Groups, Sites, Meters and Templates).
Highlight the Item from the Tree View
Click Add to add it to the Selected Items
Adding Users
Adding Users from the Access Groups Page
Users can be added when creating the User Group, or later once the Group is saved (see below)
Click Users
Select one or more User
Click Assign Selected Users
Click Save and Close to return to the Access Groups page
Adding Users from the User Page
Open: Setup > Security > Users
Highlight the User
Click Edit
Change the Access Group
Click Save
Editing Access Groups
Open: Setup > Security > Access Groups
Highlight the Access Group
Click Edit to open the Configure Access Group Security
Change the Path or Description if required
Removing Items from a Access Group
Highlight the Path in the Selected Items section
Click Remove OR
Click Remove All to remove all Paths
Deleting Access Groups
Open: Setup > Security > Access Groups
Highlight the Access Group
Click Delete
Click OK to the prompt to delete
Note: You can not delete an Access Group if there are Users assigned to it. Reassign Users to a different Group (see below) or edit the User.
Viewing Users of an Access Group
The number of assigned Users shows in the Access Group section. The list of Users can be viewed, as well as new Users assigned to the Group.
The Users option will show a list of Users assigned to the Access Group.
Open: Setup > Security > Access Groups
Highlight the Access Group
Click Users to show a list of Users
Assigning Users
Note: If the User is already assigned to an Access Group and you assign them to a new Group, they will automatically be unassigned from the original Group. Check the Access Group Column to see if the User is already assigned to an Access Group,
Open: Setup > Security > Access Groups
Highlight the Access Group
Click Users to show a list of Users
Click Assign Users
Select one or more User
Click Assign Selected Users
OR
Open: Setup > Security > Access Groups
Highlight the Access Group
Click Edit to show a list of Users
Click Users
Select one or more User
Click Assign Selected Users
Using Access Groups
Access Groups are used when creating Users and defines what Path(s) in Sigma the User has access to.
Click here for more information on adding Users